top of page

Booktube-a-thon and Biannual Bibliothon TBR aka me attempting to read all the things

So.

Here’s the thing.

Booktube-a-thon (from now on to be referred to as BTAT because lazy) and the Biannual Bibliothon (from now on to be referred to as BIBIB because still lazy) are happening in the same week this year (BTAT is running from the 24th of July to the 30th of July, BIBIB is running from the 23rd of July to the 29th of July).

If you’ve never heard of either of these they are both readathons run by wonderful people on booktube I will leave links to videos and more information at the end of the post) and they’re a great way to celebrate how freaking amazing reading is by reading as much as possible and completing challenges throughout the week.

I have done BTAT before and LOVED it, but I’ve never done the BIBIB. So it seemed like the perfect opportunity to finally do it because I could just do both together. Lots of people seem to be doing this as by combining challenges because both read-a-thons have seven challenges. And that makes sense. Right? Because trying to do 14 challenges (and therefore read 14 books) is absolute madness and should not be attempted at home.

Right?

SO OF COURSE I’M GOING TO TRY AND DO IT!

Yep… I’m going to attempt all of the challenges from both read-a-thons and read a total of 14 books in eight days days (because of the overlap there is a day at the start and end of the week where only one readathon is running - so eight days for two seven-day readathons). I plan to do this while continuing with my normal life as possible (aka limiting the time I spend locked away in my room surrounded by books…although that is generally a part of my normal life so is bound to happen throughout the week).

And there’s a reason for this (I say in an attempt to make myself sound not crazy and like I’ve put thought and time into reaching this conclusion).

The reason is lately I’ve been getting sucked into mindlessly scrolling through social media/the internet etc on my phone or computer more often than usual. And then I realise I’ve wasted minutes (more like hours) over the course of the day/week being unproductive. And while I love the internet and think there is absolutely nothing wrong with spending time on it (if you’re enjoying it), I always feel drained, unmotivated and just generally in a not great headspace afterwards which then leads me to just continue mindlessly scrolling. And I’ve had enough of this never-ending cycle.

So my solution to this problem is to remind myself how much I enjoy reading by pushing myself to read as much as possible over the course of the week. When I’m in the habit of reading I don’t find it at all hard to read at any spare moment I have… While I’m eating. While I’m working (audiobooks ftw). While I’m waiting for an appointment. While I should be sleeping. While I’m procrastinating. It’s great! Even if I read for longer than I planned, I never feel that same drained/unmotivated feeling afterwards.

So after all that rambling here is my ambitious TBR for the upcoming eight days:

BIBIB

The Group Book – Flame in the Mist by Renee Adehieh

A Host’s Favourite Genre (High Fantasy) (at least I hope this counts as high fantasy? I don’t know a great deal about it but I’m pretty sure it fits) – Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

A Banned Book – 1984 by George Orwell

Throwback Challenge (A book from a genre you’d normally skip)– Never Never by Colleen Hoover

Book to Movie Adaptation – Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

A Book You’ve Seen Somewhere Other Than Booktube – Moving Tigers by Bob Franklin

A LGBTQIA+ Book – History is all You Left Me by Adam Silvera

BTAT

Read a Book with a Person on the Cover – One of Us is Lying by Karen M McManus

Read a Hyped Book – Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Finish a Book in One Day – Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Read About a Character That is Very Different From You – When Mr Dog Bites by Brian Conaghan

Finish a Book Completely Outdoors – Attack on Titan Volume by Hajime Isayama

Read a Book You Bought Because of the Cover – Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

Read seven books – More Than This by Patrick Ness

(I'm also still waiting on some of these books at my library/reading some on my Kindle so this TBR is subject to change. I already changed it once so...things are on track).

So yes there are 14 books on this list, but some of them are quite short or very quick reads (ie Attack on Titan and Percy Jackson) and I’m also planning to read two of these as audiobooks. At least that's the plan and I should hopefully be able to make a decent dent in this list… while still getting (some) sleep throughout the week. And being a functioning member of society keeping up with work/social life/generally being an adult.

May the force be with me.

More info about Booktube-a-Thon

More info about Biannual Bibliothon

Happy reading! Let me know if you're participating in either of these read-a-thons!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Where All My Social Media Links Should Go, But I Only Use Instagram
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page